Compact

Having torn a muscle in my shoulder after slipping on rocks when out with the DSLR, things became a little difficult mainly holding my camera and carrying my camera bag getting it on and off was a bit painful to say the least. So the Walking Talking Group run from Chatterbox Cafe in St Johns Chapel, was starting up again. I enjoyed going last time it was on and it is a good way of discovering little used public footpaths for getting new images, so how could I go and take photos as carrying the big camera was out for a time so in comes the Nikon Coolpix 12 pixels compact camera. It felt quite strange carrying a small compact in my pocket and not a big camera bag and tripod you sort of get used to carrying the big camera and setting up using filters to graduate a sky checking your settings manually focusing looking through the view finder. Not with the compact point and shoot or is it, when you explore the functions of the point and shoot they are not as basic as you think with all there different modes from scene to landscape to macro, or close up, and many more. Different resolutions and one I found invaluable exposure compensation which is good for bright days which we had quite a few on our walks, I have to say I am impressed with the quality of the images from such a small camera, the only thing I found a problem was the focusing sometimes it could hunt a few times and the image was not always sharp where with the big camera I could manual focus, but that is the difference between several hundred pounds and not. So my shoulder is better now so will be going back to my DSLR, but the compact will travel with me as well as it can be a handy tool for catching those quick shots in a way I feel it has helped me get a fresh look on my photography as I had got so used to being able to set everything myself and have total control where with the compact you have certain control over certain things but sometimes you have to think a little more creativly.

So these are one or two image taken with the compact, and then worked on in Photoshop for the B&W and the colour images I adjusted which is no different to what I would do with My DSLR the only difference I would shoot in RAW with my DSLR.

DSCN2522 DSCN2658B&W DSCN2498 DSCN B&W2560 DSCN B&W2545 B&W - DSCN2504 Weardale B&W-031-2-1

Leave a Reply

